This guide includes links to all of the library's open access resources, including databases, journals, ebooks, and media.
- AMS Books Online (Freely Accessible)
Open access e-books in mathematics.
- Anatomy Videos - MedlinePlus
These animated videos show the anatomy of body parts and organ systems and how diseases and conditions affect them. Resource is open access. No password is required.
Free online access to various classic reference books on literature, science, medicine, the Bible, and quotations.
- Internet Archive
The Archive includes digitized books, audio, moving images, and software as well archived web pages from all over the world. Research and educational, as well as recreational content is archived.
- Music Treasures Consortium
The Music Treasures Consortium provides access to the world's most valued music manuscripts and print materials, held at the most renowned music archives. Researchers can search or browse materials, access information about items, and view images of them via the archives web site. The consortial collection will grow as members add more materials. Open access. No password required. Unlimited users.
- National Jukebox
National Jukebox is a project of the Library of Congress. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives. No password required. Open access. Unlimited usrs.
- NCBI Bookshelf
Bookshelf provides free access to books and documents in life science and healthcare. A vital node in the data-rich resource network at NCBI, Bookshelf enables users to easily browse, retrieve, and read content, and spurs discovery of related information. Some books are available in full text. Others only have abstract information. Years covered varies. Open access. No password required. Unlimited users.
- Online Library of Liberty
Online Library of Liberty houses the electronic versions of classic books about individual liberty are stored. These texts go back some 4,000 years and cover the disciplines of economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, political theory, religion, and war and peace.
- Public Health Image Library (PHIL)
Database of photographs, illustrations, and videos of various illness, medical personnel in medical settings, and patients with illness. Open access. No password required. Unlimited users.
Provides drug information on a variety of prescription and prescription drugs. Includes indications, contraindications, and interactions. Also includes a pill identifier tool
- Surgery Videos - MedlinePlus
This page provides links to prerecorded webcasts of surgical procedures. These are actual operations performed at medical centers in the United States. Most of the videos last an hour. Please note that you cannot send in questions by email, though the webcast may say that you can, because you are not seeing these videos live.
- World Health Organization Publications
WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends. Site provides statistics and other information about health issues worldwide. Open Access. No password required. Unlimited users.
- NASA Astrophysics Data System Journals
The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 9.2 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-prints. The main body of data in the ADS consists of bibliographic records.
- New York Times Index
Free access to the New York Times index.
Broad based technical topics including environmental pollution, agriculture, chemistry, energy, and computers. Index and abstracts for more than 600,000 scientific, technical, engineering, and business related sources from 200 federal agencies.
The Nucleotide database is a collection of sequences from several sources, including GenBank, RefSeq, TPA and PDB. Genome, gene and transcript sequence data provide the foundation for biomedical research and discovery.
- Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM)
OMIM is a comprehensive, authoritative, and timely compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes. The overviews in OMIM contain information on all known mendelian disorders and over 12,000 genes. It is updated daily, and the entries contain copious links to other genetics resources and links to citations in PubMed. Open access. No password required. Unlimited users.
Broad coverage of the medical area including clinical, experimental and veterinary medicine, pathology, health services administration, nursing, dentistry, nutrition, toxicology and psychiatry. Also includes life sciences research when applicable to medicine. Part of the NCBI family of databases which includes Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others. Over 9500 journals are indexed and abstracted.
- PubMed Clinical Queries
Allows you to search for evidence-based medical, nursing, and allied health articles. Broad coverage of the medical area including clinical, experimental and veterinary medicine, pathology, health services administration, nursing, dentistry, nutrition, toxicology and psychiatry. Over 9500 journals are indexed and abstracted. Covers 1950 to present. Unlimited users. Open access. No password required.
- Biodiversity Heritage Library
The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.” No password is required.
- Blackwell Synergy Free Collection
- Cell Press Free Archives
Open access archival access to Cell Press journals.
- Chemistry Central
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
This directory of newspapers published in the United States since 1690 can help identify what titles exist for a specific place and time, and how to access them. Use the options below to select a particular place and time, using keywords to locate specific titles. Titles currently listed: 140,115.
- Copernicus Publications
Access to open access publications in the sciences, engineering, mathematics, and humanities. Unlimited users. No user name or password required.
- Directory of Open Access Journals
Includes science and social science areas with some coverage in the arts, history, and literature, languages, and linguistics. Browse by title or by subject area.
- Directory of Open Access Journals in Education
- Europe PubMed Central
Access the open access full text articles on medicine and other areas of life sciences. No password required. Unlimited users.
- Free Full-Text Journals in Chemistry
- Free Medical Journals
Free Medical Journals - Over the next years, the most important medical journals will be available online, free and in full-text. The unrestricted access to scientific knowledge - the new standard in medical publishing - will have a major impact on medical practice.
- HathiTrust (Public Domain within US only)
The HathiTrust Digital Library brings together the immense collections of partner institutions in digital form, preserving them securely to be accessed and used today, and in future generations.
- HighWire Press (Free Journals)
HighWire Press is the largest archive of free full-text science on Earth! Many articles are available open access in full text, but not all. No password. Unlimited users.
- Hindawi Publishing Open Access
Browse the table of contents of open access journals on a variety of topics.
- Internet Library of Early Journals
ILEJ, the "Internet Library of Early Journals" was a joint project by the Universities of Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester and Oxford, conducted under the auspices of the eLib (Electronic Libraries) Programme. It aimed to digitise substantial runs of 18th and 19th century journals, and make these images available on the Internet, together with their associated bibliographic data. The project finished in 1999, and no additional material will be added. See Final Report for conclusions of the project.
- IOP Publishing Historic Journals Archive
The IOP Journal Archive is a comprehensive digital collection of all the work published by IOP that's more than 10 years old. The archive extends back to 1874
- J-STAGE (Japan Science & Technology Information Aggregator, Electronic) Freely Available Titles - English
Browse the table of contents of open access journals in the sciences. No password needed. Unlimited users.
- Nature Open Access
Full text of open access journals published by Nature Publishing.
- ScienceDirect Free and Delayed Access Titles
ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. Many titles are open access or have open access older content. No password required. Unlimited users.
Access open access journals from Springer Publishing.
- Taylor & Francis Open Access
Access the full text of open access journals published by Taylor & Francis. Subjects vary. Open access. No user name or password required. Unlimited users.
- Wiley-Blackwell Open Access Backfiles
Access the open access backfiles of some journals published by Wiley. Various subjects. No password required. Unlimited users.
- Wiley-Blackwell Open Access Collection
Access the open access journals published by Wiley. Various subjects. No password required. Unlimited users.